Passengers from 10 countries barred from entering Philippines

Philippine GDP
Photo by Ian Romie Ona on Unsplash

The Bureau of Immigration announced that they will be implementing the most recent directive from Malacanang expanding the travel ban to include passengers coming from Malaysia and Thailand starting July 25 until July 31.

The two adds to the already 8 existing countries temporarily banned to prevent the further spread and community transmission of emerging Covid-19 variants.

The other countries covered by the travel ban are India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Oman, the United Arab Emirates, and Indonesia.

“Foreigners arriving from said countries or with a travel history there within the last 14 days will be denied entry and will immediately be sent back to their port of origin,” said Morente.

“On the other hand, Filipinos arriving from these countries as part of repatriation efforts by the government and non-government sectors will be allowed entry but will be subjected to set protocols by other government agencies,” the BI chief added.

Morente clarified that those who are already in transit and will be arriving before July 25 will be allowed entry, but will be required to undergo a strict 14-day facility-based quarantine. (BI)